Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Suggestions for Beginners

General chat and talk about whisky.

Suggestions for Beginners

Postby Wub » Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:59 pm

I'm a relative beginner myself, but looking through old threads I've noticed that often new people will arrive at this forum, announce what they've tried before and ask for sugestions on what to try next, or they'll be given suggestions anyway. So it seemd like a thread devoted to giving suggestions might be a good idea (if not let it sink into obscurity).

I'm a fan of big, peaty Islays. If you like foods with intense, savoury aromas and tastes like blue cheese, fish sauce, hot salami, and smoked foods, then the chances are that you'll like these whiskies as well. I can only go on what I've tried, but here are my suggestions for starting with Islays:

If you're the type to test the water with your toes before entering: Bowmore Legend.

If you're the type to jump into the deep end and don't mind a bit of chlorine: Laphroaig 10yo.
Wub
Bronze Member

Re: Suggestions for Beginners

Postby lockejn » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:16 pm

And if you're the type to sit in a lounge chair beside the pool have a go at Glenfarclas 12 or Highland Park 12.
lockejn
Triple Gold Member

Postby scotchdrinker » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:26 pm

What if you swim in the ocean :P
scotchdrinker
Silver Member

Postby johan brugge » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:33 pm

Don't swim in the North Sea. The crap you get in your mouth from the dark brown water ... :yuk:
johan brugge
Double Gold Member

Postby scotchdrinker » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:35 pm

I will take that under advisement but I was saying ocean that everyone would swim in not the north sea which from the sounds of it no one should swim in it :oops: Kind of like the Hudson River :shock:
scotchdrinker
Silver Member

Postby Ganga » Wed Aug 12, 2009 9:56 pm