Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

What next? (Another newbie)

General chat and talk about whisky.

What next? (Another newbie)

Postby charlie7 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:55 pm

Hello all,

as you may or may not have seen in my other post, I'm new to Whisky but am trying as many different ones as I can get my hands on to get an idea of what is out there and what I like and dislike.

So far I really like Auchentoshan 12, Highland Park 12 & 18 and Springbank 15.

Bruichladdich 18 I'm not sure of yet, one day I like it, the next I don't :?

The others: Macallan 12 (I guess it was the Fine Oak, but not sure), Dalwhinnie 15 and Glenlivet 15 I found rather "dull".

For my next purchase (and bar visits) I was thinking Bruichladdich Organic (I like the concept) or any of their core range (10-12-15-XVII), Balvenie Doublewood or Glenmorangie 10 but I'm very open to suggestions (but as you have figured by now, I'm starting off in the lower price range).

As for peated, the PC7 I disliked because of the burnt rubber finish, so I guess I'm not a peat lover (or I'll have to grow into it). I suppose I could try a less heavily peated one though; I believe I saw some people suggest Talisker? Or maybe the Bruichladdich Waves or Infinity ?

TIA
C7
charlie7

Re: What next? (Another newbie)

Postby Ganga » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:43 am

Burnt rubber is more normally associated with sherried whiskies. Try a different Islay whisky before you right off peated whiskies as a group.

I would also suggest that Bruichladdich doesn't have a true core range yet. Each release comes as an edition (some are finished and others are strictly matured) and is intended to be different.

There is quite a big difference between Macallan sherry matured and fine oak. I'd suggest that you try the sherry 12/10 (depending on where you are). I believe there are miniatures of this available.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby shulaw05 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:26 am