Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Cask strength recommendations.

General chat and talk about whisky.

Cask strength recommendations.

Postby PNZ » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:41 am

Hi there,
I'm relatively new to the whisky world and have slowly been trying to work my way through various regions and expressions. I have landed in the world of peat recently, however last week I tried a 26yo Glenlivet Adelphi and it really gave me something new to think about. Now I don't know if it was the non Islay cask strength element of it (I haven't tried many non Islay CS's) or that particular expression itself but it really hit the spot.
I can't track down that particular bottle (due both to being in New Zealand and my local whisky shop being destroyed in the Christchurch earthquake *sigh*) however does anyone have any recommendations of a whisky that might fit a similar hole in my collection? I have seen the Glenlivet Nadurra getting accolades on the forums but at $180NZD a bottle (I know, whsky is really expensive in NZ) I think there may be a cheaper option to fulfill my desires.
Thanks all!
PNZ

Re: Cask strength recommendations.

Postby Ganga » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:42 am

Was there anything in particular that attracted to you about the Adelphi? Bourbon or sherry cask? I would suggest a similar IB bottling of Glenlivet. Hard to be more specific. I get a lot of tropical fruits and coconut with Glenlivet, especially at cask strength. If it was a sherry matured whisky, try Aberlour a'bunadh.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby Wave » Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:53 am

PNZ wrote:I can't track down that particular bottle (due both to being in New Zealand and my local whisky shop being destroyed in the Christchurch earthquake *sigh*)