Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Beginner - Aussie

General chat and talk about whisky.

Beginner - Aussie

Postby NovaNova » Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:38 pm

Heyhey,
Just wondering if there are any Australians out there who could steer me in the right direction.
I'm fairly new to whisky (so far mainly a scotch single malt experience) and have thought of two main questions which are probably the most useful to begin with;

1. My first single malt was the Glenfiddich 18 Ancient Reserve (recommended by a friend - wasn't blown away at first, then after about 3/4 of the bottle something clicked and i finally started to appreciate it for what it was rather than struggling to swallow it)
I figured maybe i'd skipped the beginners class so i ducked down to my local Dan Murphy's and picked up a Glenmorangie 10 the original (less impressed by this one, just seemed too light for my liking)
Following this i did my homework through scouring these forums and the rest of the net and last week picked up a HP12 - MY GOODNESS this is what it's all about!
SO i guess my question is, where to from here?!

2. In reference to the Single Malts from question numero uno, which cost $125, $60, & $67 AUD respectively, I'm wondering if there is better place of purchase than Dmurphy's in terms of price, am i getting ripped off? (keeping in mind that i'm a few hours out of Sydney - i'm fairly certain that locally DM's is the only physical outlet for a good array of scotch single malts)

I have taken to the net in search of better prices (i've been eyeing off the HP18 at DM's, but at $155 AUD i'm hesitant) and have stumbled across whiskygalore.com which seems quite a good website, and just sent me my very first Glencairn glass the other day, but seems to have more IB's and obscurer bottlings than DM's.

So basically, where are you Aussies out there buying your whisky from??

Sorry for the novel length post

Cheers,
NovaNova