Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Whiskey lovers advice needed

General chat and talk about whisky.

Whiskey lovers advice needed

Postby Novice2012 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:13 pm

I have to confess I am a novice to both whiskey drinking and forums as my username suggests but yer advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. The reason I am seeking whiskey lovers advice is that I was recently left a bottle of old whiskey in a friends will with a note attached just saying "I've got the last round covered" so I phoned up our old mates some I hadn't seen in years and we all had a drink on our friend and exchanged stories it was just what he would have wanted, so The reason I am seeking advice is I have 4 children and I would like to leave them each a bottle of whiskey in my will but I don't want it to be just any bottle either. I would like for Them to have a choice drink it, keep it for there kids, or if needed sell it so I was researching limited edition bottles for example Dalmore, Macallan, Port Ellen, But I don't know enough being honest only a true whiskey lover would. I hope god willing I have another 20-30 years in me so they will be in storage for a number of years. Thank you for reading and any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Novice2012

Re: Whiskey lovers advice needed

Postby Ganga » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:12 pm

In 20 to 30 years time, many of the bottles readily available on the shelf today should be quite scarce. Limited edition is not a euphamism for quality. I would suggest considering several different whiskies and maybe try to pair them to the personalities. Rosebank is a floral, grassy whisky. Port Ellen is like a fishing village. Macallan big sherry character (18 comes in vintages). Etc.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby whiskgeek » Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:21 am