Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

What I know about Scotch

General chat and talk about whisky.

What I know about Scotch

Postby Richiyaado » Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:14 am

The short answer, of course, is "Not much."

I am admittedly a novice here, though I am enjoying the combined experience of reading, buying (sparingly), tasting, and daydreaming about trying new (to me) Scotches down the road.

As I've long enjoyed Bourbon (and other American whiskies), I decided to give Scotch a go when I found the book, "The Complete Guide to Whiskey," by Jim Murray (published 1997). He seems to like many of the Bourbons I like, so I thought I'd try some of the Scotch he recommends. So far, I haven't been disappointed. He gives high marks to Ardbeg 10yo and Talisker 10yo... distinctly different, but each very pleasing (Ardbeg especially is unlike anything I've experienced... really like that one). Other than those, I have The Macallan 12yo and The Glenlivet 18yo... these are okay, but doubt I'll miss them when they're gone. I also have some Johnny Walker Black, which seems to be a good mixer (Rob Roy), but nothing special neat.

I do try to run the gamut when experiencing these Scotches (nosing, tasting, savoring the finish, etc.), though I don't pretend to possess any great sophistication... senses no doubt compromised by the fact that I smoke.

Having just returned from Japan recently, I sort of regret I didn't pick up one of the Japanese Scotches, as a few of them seem to be highly regarded... next time.

Meanwhile, I'd be curious to know what folks might recommend I try next (not too expensive). Thanks! (Apologies for what must be a common question in these parts.)
Richiyaado

Postby Deactivated Member » Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:25 am