Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Glenlivet / Bowmore 15 or Macallan/ Talisker / highland 10

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

what is best of below?

Glenlivet 15
No votes
Bowmore 15
8%
Talisker 10
77%
Macallan 10
8%
Highland park 10 (not sure about it)
8%

Total votes : 13

Glenlivet / Bowmore 15 or Macallan/ Talisker / highland 10

Postby clover » Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:20 am

what of the above should be my next purchase?
I am pretty new to whiskey, my first single malt was the Glenlivet 15.
Now I have these options:
Glenlivet 15
Bowmore 15
Talisker 10
Macallan 10
and maybe Highland park 10
I am not sure about the last one so take it as an option only.
If so, what should I get then? should I prefer "younger" macallan/talisker to 15 Glenlivet / Bowmore?
And what is preferable anyway, the Bowmore or the Glenlivet?
Advice will be appreciated.
Thanks
clover

Re: Glenlivet / Bowmore 15 or Macallan/ Talisker / highland 10

Postby Ardbeg311 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 1:00 pm

Welcome Clover!

I don't think I have ever had a Bowmore 15yo, and I have never seen a HP 10. I am assuming the Glenlivet 15yo is the 'French Oak' and so the three other whiskies you list I have had recently. Of these, the Talisker 10 has provided me with the most pleasure and would be my recommendation.

On a side note, Clover (and no pressure here), it would be most helpful for you to indicate where you live in order that you might receive the greatest benefit from this forum. I have found that the local men and women often can be the most helpful.
Ardbeg311
Gold Member

Postby The Third Dram » Fri Aug 14, 2009 1:18 pm

clover wrote:Now I have these options:
Glenlivet 15
Is this the French Oak Reserve? A very good pour if so.
Bowmore 15