Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Half size bottles - good or bad ?

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

How do you feel about bottle sizes ?

Poll ended at Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:06 pm

There should be more half bottles available
80%
I just want the current standard bottle size
20%

Total votes : 20

Half size bottles - good or bad ?

Postby Jan » Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:06 pm

I’m fairly new to this hobby and am currently in the exploring fase – curious and wanting to taste the many whiskies I read and hear about.

On the other hand I can’t just indulge – work, girlfriend and all the other day to day activities that fills a life impose some constraints, (which is probably quite good for my health :) ) and most weeks I have just a few drams in the weekends – 2-5 on average, I think.

So, keeping in mind that one should’nt have to many bottles open at a time due to detoriation, it is slow going and I often find myself impatiently looking at the bottles in my modest collection, waiting for the time that I finally can finish a bottle and thus open the next one.

I find myself whishing that there were more halfbottles (35 cl) on the shelfes of the shops I frequent. It would obviously make it possible to buy and taste more different distilleries & expressions and help a lot to finish a bottle in due time.

And therefore this poll. I’m simply curious to hear your thoughts on this – do you find smaller bottlings desirable or do you think that the standard 70 cl bottle is the optimal size ?
Jan
Gold Member

Postby hpulley » Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:45 pm

About the only bottler selling half sizes around here is Signatory and the ones in half bottles have not tended to be great and they're priced like some cheaper full bottles so one wonders why to buy them? And they have bad screw caps that don't even last the number of openings provided by 35cL of liquor.