Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Retirement gift...

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

What would a you prefer to get as a gift?

Macallan 30 Year Old 'Fine Oak' Highland Single Malt (I can't get the sherry oak version)
18%
Macallan 18 Year Old Single Malt (Sherry Oak) + Talisker 20 Year Old Natural Cask Strength
82%

Total votes : 11

Retirement gift...

Postby ACSchnitzer » Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:28 am

My boss at work (a scotch connoisseur) is going to retire in 2 weeks. I have appreciated his guidance and fair treatment over the years. To show my gratitude, I'd like to give him a bottle or two of fine whisky.

Keep in mind that I'm a total newb. I have spent most of today reading this forum and I'm impressed with the wealth of knowledge. I was intrigued with the Whisky Mag top 90 (taken with a grain of salt of course).

Anyways, what would you rather receive?:

1. Macallan 30 Year Old 'Fine Oak' Highland Single Malt (I can't get the sherry oak version in Canada

2. Macallan 18 Year Old Single Malt (Sherry Oak)

& Talisker 20 Year Old Natural Cask Strength
Last edited by ACSchnitzer on Sun Oct 23, 2005 3:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ACSchnitzer

Postby Deactivated Member » Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:44 am

I vote the Mac 18 and Talisker 20. What great bookends! Making a gift of these two bottles, one heavily sherried and the other heavily peated, will make a great statement about the duality of man's nature, or some bulls*** like that. :roll: Never mind, they're just great malts, and he will appreciate them both. The Mac FO 30 would be more risky, and putting all your eggs in one basket, as well.
Deactivated Member

Postby Frodo » Sun Oct 23, 2005 5:55 am