Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

New Whisky Products

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

Would you consider buying a bottle of whisky with a twist/hint of lime or orange

Orange
50%
Lime
50%

Total votes : 8

New Whisky Products

Postby Shona » Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:47 pm

Hey, I'm a second year University student and as part of my coursework I have to 'invent' a new whisky product.
I have put in my question to consider how likely the product would be to be a sucess and to see which people would prefer.
thank you to all who vote.
Regards,
Shona.
Shona

Postby Deactivated Member » Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:04 pm

I imagine that most posters on this forum would prefer their whisky without adornments, so we may not be the best people to ask.

In terms of designing a new whisky product - it is a bit of a tall order to expect a whole class to come out with different new ideas given that if it were a good idea, someone would probably have thought of it at some point in the last 300 years. I'm not aware of people drinking whisky with bitter lemon, so I doubt that citric additions are likely to be popular. Having said that, some single malts (e.g. Longmorn, Ben Nevis, etc) can have a distinctly orangey flavour.

If I had to design a new whisky product that I wanted to last, I would consider experimenting with different grains.
Deactivated Member

Postby bamber » Mon Nov 28, 2005 4:18 pm

Whisky and lime - weren't we 'Brits' famous for drinking that in the 2nd world war - hence the term 'Limey''.

Out for the two I'll pick lime but that poll needs a neither !

I don't mind cocktails:
I like whisky sours - made with bourbon (I prbably drink 5/year) and mint juleps. Generally however, I echo Nicks sentiments, with regards to keeping whisky straight.
bamber
Double Gold Member

Postby hpulley » Mon Nov 28, 2005 5:18 pm

no
hpulley
Triple Gold Member