Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Reviews

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

Which expert's judgement do you trust the most?

Poll ended at Wed May 31, 2006 4:31 am

Jim Murray
36%
Malt Maniacs
32%
Michael Jackson/Dave Broom
32%

Total votes : 25

Reviews

Postby cwtrotter » Mon May 01, 2006 4:31 am

I am rather new to appreciating the variences is single malt whiskies. As with cigars, I have found that "independent" reviews can have little correlation to my personal opinion when I try the product myself. However, when I look for new bottles to try, I like to have some logic behind it, so I read the reviews anyway. I have looked extensively at the Malt Maniacs site, this site, and recently, Jim Murray's "Whisky Bible." Overall ratings for Cardhu 12 yo, Dalwhinne 15 yo, and Bruichladdich XVII vary by 14 to 21 points--a huge gap amongst experts. So, if your next purchase depended on it, who would you trust the most?
cwtrotter

Postby Deactivated Member » Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 am

Hi CW and welcome to the forum.
The simple answer is to trust them all. Each - and many others besides - bring a unique perspective to whisk(e)y and have a wide experience in what is a complex world.
Over time I suppose, you may tend to agree more with one experts view rather than another, but that doesn't, of course, mean that contrary views are any less valid. It ultimately comes down to personal taste and interpretation of what makes a whisky good, great, excellent etc.
I wouldn't get hung up too much on points systems either. They are only an indication and even though one person marks a whisky at 95 and the other 80, it is still the same whisky - and if you like it you like it, end of story.

If I were pushed though, I think just now I'd go for Dave Broom. I get the feeling that his views are based more with the consumer in mind rather than personal opinions.