Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Best Single Malt?

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

What Single Malt Scotch Should I Buy?

Lagavulin 16
32%
Ardeg Uigeadail
8%
Talisker 10
5%
Talisker 18
5%
Balvenie 12
5%
Macallan 12
3%
Ardbeg 10
11%
Highland Park 12
11%
Highland Park 18
11%
Other (please list)
11%

Total votes : 38

Best Single Malt?

Postby DanielKoons » Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:21 pm

I am quite new to Whisky and Scotch and I love it. I currently have:
Jameson
Michael Collins
Maker's Mark
Southern Comfort
Jack Daniel's
Johnnie Walker Green
I am wanting a Single Malt Scotch
DanielKoons

Postby Deactivated Member » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:19 pm

All of the above. It would be rude not to! (Sorry, DK, that's our little catch phrase around here.)

Welcome to the forum, and to our little obsession. I'm not so sure that it matters which one you try first, as long as you keep in mind that there is a great variety to be had--if one thing doesn't appeal, another may well. From your list, Highland Park or Balvenie might give you the best introduction to what single malts are about; then you will want to try something heavily sherried, like Macallan, and something heavily peated, like Lagavulin or Ardbeg. Then you will spend the rest of your life filling in the spaces!
Deactivated Member

Postby irishwhiskeychaser » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:46 pm

I voted Highland Park 12, not because it is my favourite out of the list but because it is just a great whisky that is very approachable, I think they call it the all rounder of malts. Further it is quite affordable so that it won't be a costly mistake in comparison to some others you have listed but I reckon it will not be a mistake.

:thumbsup:
irishwhiskeychaser
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby Ganga » Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:17 pm