Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Longmorn 15, Highland Park 12, Johnny Walker Black or Green?

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

Poll ended at Thu Jul 26, 2007 3:44 pm

Longmorn 15
56%
Highland Park 12
31%
Johnnie Walker Black 12
No votes
Johnnie Walker Green 15
13%

Total votes : 16

Postby jruddy » Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:44 pm

I am still new to Whisky (as opposed to Irish Whiskey) and I am looking for advice on my next bottle. I have a bottle of HP 18 which is phenominal and a bottle of Glenfiddich 12 that is simply awful. The only other things I can mention regarding my personal taste is that I adore Redbreast 12 and
I really enjoyed Lag 16, but don't know how often I'd be in the mood for an Islay.

So I need something to keep me from drinking my HP 18 too quickly - I'm thinking of these more moderately priced bottles:
Longmorn 15
Highland Park 12
Johnnie Walker Black 12
Johnnie Walker Green 15

Any Opinions?
jruddy

Postby les taylor » Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:54 pm

Hi jruddy and welcome to forums. I'm new to longmorn which I think is fabulous. However the HP12 is a really nice whisky and would put it above the rest. IMHO.

:)
les taylor
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby Reggaeblues » Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:03 pm

4 quite different whiskies!

And all with merits.

Longmorn 15 is one of my, and many here, favourite "Speyside" malts...and one you'd better not get too fond of, as it's being discontinued and won't be around long.

HP12 is a nice dram, perhaps with not as much depth as the 18, but a classic in its own way - more of an "everyday' dram ...