Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Beards - should I grow one

Take part in our whisky polls and votes. You can also post your own polls in this forum.

Should I grow a beard and will it affect the taste of whiskies

Yes, grow a beard it won't affect whisky flavours
63%
Yes, grown one even though it will affect whisky flavours
4%
No, don't gow one, they look awful and will affect whisky flavours
4%
No, don't grow one, they just look awful
22%
I have no experience of beards and wish to abstain
7%

Total votes : 46

Beards - should I grow one

Postby Deactivated Member » Sat Dec 29, 2007 2:06 pm

For the last 2 weeks I haven't shaved and my beard is growing nicely.

Sabine is encouraging me to keep it growing, she says "it makes my face look interesting"
Hmmmm, I know it wasn't so interesting before, but ........ thanks!

Anyway, each day I look in the mirror and have mixed feelings, sometimes I think "it MUST go", then next time I think "yes, interesting" maybe I'll give it a little longer.

It feels strange, it itches like mad and yes, it drives me mad.

Should it stay or go?
For those of you who have (or have had) beards, will it affect my whisky tasting as it grows longer?

Finally, no, I do not wish to post a picture of me here :P

MT
Deactivated Member

Re: Beards - should I grow one

Postby les taylor » Sat Dec 29, 2007 2:31 pm

NO A THOUSAND TIMES NO.

MT when I was in my late teens I dabbled with the moustache. Then when I was 23 I had the full beard. We had some photos taken I looked like a Norwegian fisherman. Not that theres anything wrong with that, but you know what I mean.

So off came the beard and no facial hair has ever made it back.

MT I bet you have some grey hair facial hair now. The question has to be asked and please don't take offense. Is the beard to match this duffle coat phase you are going through?
And are you getting some Jesus sandals to match the beard and coat?

:wink: