Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Suggestions for next Scotch purchase

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Suggestions for next Scotch purchase

Postby WaxDart » Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:06 pm

I am fairly new to the Scotch experience and I am looking for input on my next purchase.

Here is a list of what I currently have:

Caol Ila 12 = 9/10
Highland Park 15 = 8/10
Oban 14 = 7/10
Glenlivet 15 F.O.R. = 6.5/10
JW Blue = 9/10 but too expensive
JW Black = Favorite everday blend
JW Gold = enjoy the Black more
Famous Grouse 18 = Least favorite blend

I think I am drawn towards the smokiness and smoothness of the Caol Ila and JW Blue.

I am looking at picking up 1 or 2 of the following but would like other suggestions as well:

Ardbeg 10
BenRiach Curiositas
Talisker 10
Talisker 18
HighlandPark 18
Clynelish 10
Isle of Jura Superstition

Any feed back would be appreciated.
Thanks,
WD
WaxDart

Re: Suggestions for next Scotch purchase

Postby bcrossan » Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:32 pm

Ardbeg 10 for sure and then I would suggest the Lagavulin 16 if you can find it
bcrossan
Silver Member

Postby kyorke1 » Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:37 pm

I would suggest the Talisker 18 and HP 18 in MHO. Perhaps a Laphroaig 10 too as a peaty smokey smooth one? I tried the L10 not so long ago and went down like water. Probably because I have been drinking Ardbeg recently.
kyorke1
Silver Member

Postby triguy42 » Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:01 pm