Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Like Balvenie, Glenfiddich where do I go from here?

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Like Balvenie, Glenfiddich where do I go from here?

Postby Disclaimer » Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:03 pm

I recently started to drink and immensely like Whisky, but I'm still a total noob...

I tried Balvenie DW, Glenfiddich 15 Sola Reserva and Cragganmore 12, all of which I loved. I also tried the Talisker 10, which unfortunately I found very difficult to drink. I see that there is some interesting complexity lurking behind all that smoke and peat, but so far I've been unable to appreciate that.

So, I think I'll stay away from the smoke/peat monsters for now. But I can't really decide what do buy next. Maybe one of those:

Highland Park 12 - but I read somewhere, that it is somewhat rubbery, medicinal. True? How dominant is that?

The Macallan 12 - or maybe the 10? Which Macallan is supposed to be the "Best" (in the < 100 USD range)?

What do you think about these? Any other tips?
Disclaimer

Re: Like Balvenie, Glenfiddich where do I go from here?

Postby Whisky » Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:25 pm

I'm not a fan of sherried whiskies, so I'm not overly keen on the standard Macallan, but I recently tried the 10 year old Fine Oak and was impressed. (And I've a bottle of the 15 year old beside me.) It's described as being a bit young and rough in the review on this site, however, I found it very palatable. (Boubony with an appley finish, is how I'd describe it.)
I'd say the HP is between the Glenmorangie and Talisker smoke-wise.
Whisky

Postby kyorke1 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:33 pm

These were the whiskies I started out on, but soon moved onto Islay for peat and smoke. I would perhaps recommend Glenkinchie, Auchentoshan, Dalwhinnie and Aberlour.
kyorke1
Silver Member

Postby The Third Dram » Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:42 pm