Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Help me find a Whisky!

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Help me find a Whisky!

Postby zero1boy » Sun May 31, 2009 4:40 am

I am new to whisky tasting and have only tasted a few nice choices, including my favorite, Highland Park 15 yo. I love a sweet and smokey whisky and I am looking for suggestions for new ones to try that will not break the bank and are not overly peaty. Any ideas???
zero1boy

Re: Help me find a Whisky!

Postby kyorke1 » Sun May 31, 2009 12:11 pm

I think the HP 18 is fantastic and has a good balance of sweet and smoke that you like, I haven't had the 15 so I can't really compare the two. Others that offer sweetness and smoke are Talisker, Lagavulin DE perhaps (this maybe a little peaty though) to name a couple.
kyorke1
Silver Member

Postby Ras Mazunga » Sun May 31, 2009 2:43 pm

Try the Talisker 18, it's sweet and the peat is mild. A very good whisky, one of the best ob's I know.
Ras Mazunga
Gold Member

Postby The Third Dram » Sun May 31, 2009 4:24 pm

The 18-year old Highland Park and Talisker are both established classics... Brilliantly balanced, satisfying whiskies of tremendous complexity.

If you're interested in a single malt whisky displaying a more 'grain' rather than 'fruit' driven malt characteristic and possessing a whiff of smokiness, then Glen Garioch 15 Year Old might just do the trick.

And if a vatted pure malt is in your arena of interest, I'd heartily recommend Poit Dhubh 12 Bliadhna Mac Na Braiche Green Label - sweet and lush at the outset before the warming embers begin to take hold.
The Third Dram
Triple Gold Member

Postby zero1boy » Sun May 31, 2009 4:59 pm