Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Novice Tastings

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Novice Tastings

Postby Wub » Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:54 pm

I've only been drinking single malt whiskies for a about a month, but I thought I'd share my experiences so far. I'll go through the whiskies I've tried so far (don't worry: there aren't that many). Come to think of it, I'll have a dram of each as I get to them (It'll make the experience more enjoyable...for me).

As a newbie my tasting notes will be unsophisticated. My smoking addiction doesn't help (I plan to give up. Apart from the positive effect that will have on tasting, the money I save on smokes in a week will cover a decent scotch).

Glenfiddich 12. I bought this because I recognized the name. I can't say much about it because I only drank it for the effect after finishing off a bottle of wine. The best I can say is that I thought it was "smooth" i.e. it didn't seem to give me the "whisky shudder" that I remembered from earlier experiences with (cheap) whisky.

Glenfiddich 15 (miniatures). The first of these I had was also post wine. The second was after a dram or two of the Laphroaig 10 (below), and I thought it was appalling. I bought another today just to see if it was as bad as I thought. Now...Nose: not much of anything apart from ethanol and maybe a general "smell of whisky". Palate: a touch of honey and nothing else that I can actually name. Finish: seems very bitter, a bit unpleasant. Later: I'm getting a bit more from the nose now...pleasant and somehow familiar, but I can't identify it...dough? The last sip went down a bit better: finish didn't seem quite as bitter. Overall it doesn't seem as bad as it did the other night and I guess I could get to like it...but there are so many others to try.