Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Scotch Newbie Taste Three SMSW...

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Scotch Newbie Taste Three SMSW...

Postby Tightwad » Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:20 pm

Total newbie to "Single Malt" taste three Whiskys. Feel free to laugh because this will not be a sophisticated analysis.

1. Highland Park 12yo 43%.

50/50 HP12/Evian
Nose: Smells like Scotch to me and no real alcohol burn.
(Not sure this is a good idea as I didnt like JWB or J&B).
Taste: Ahhh.... Thats not bad. Little alcohol burn. Just enough to let you know its not water. A straw like taste in the middle (2. and 3. didnt have this). Heather? A little sweetness. Honey? A little tartness. Oak?
Finish: Nice and long with just a little burn and a lingering straw like taste. Not unpleasant.

Straight HP12
Nose: There is the alcohol. Still smells like Scotch to me (Now I know this isnt a bad thing).
Taste: Stronger, alcohol, straw (Heather?), Sweetness (Honey?), Tartness (Oak?). Hey I really like this.
Finish: Continuation of the Taste but a little dry on the end.

90/10 HP12/Evian
Nose: Little less alcohol, about the same aromas.
Taste: A little less alcohol, more flavor.
Finish: Really nice. A little burn and complex flavors (I like but its way over my head) without the dry ending.

2. Macallan 12yo (Sherry) 43%

50/50 Mac12/Evian
Nose: Less alcohol, less smoke, sweet cherry (Sherry?)
Taste: Barely any alcohol, sweet cherry, bit bitter on the end.
Finish: Little alcohol, sweet cherry, little bitter note.

Straight Mac12
Nose: Alcohol Laced Cherry Cough Drops (good enough to eat)
Taste: Still dont taste much alcohol, cherries are stronger. No bitterness.
Finish: little alcohol burn, cherries. No bitteness, no dryness.

90/10 Mac10/Evian
Nose: Little less alcohol but not really any more expressive.
Taste: Bitterness is back
Finish: Bitterness is back