Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Could it be that my taste has developed?

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

A newbie needs recommendations

Postby MrAndySais » Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:42 pm

Hi all,
I am a newbie to this forum and to the wonderful world of Single Malt Whiskys.
Please excuse my bad English .. I am from Munich, Germany. Image

I started collecting/drinking Whisky in October/November 2001 and have acquired about 60 bottles so far.

I wanted to have a big spectrum of Whisky, so I tried to get my hands of the youngest Whisky of the well-known distillers. Unfortunately I have bought some bottles that were less pleasing.
Now I want to go a step further and buy older whiskys or different editions from my favourite brands. But since that will be a little bit more costly, I would appreciate some recommendations.
Here are some of my favourite brands and what I have from them:
Ardbeg: I only have the 10-y.-o. and a Murray & David Edition (1991)which I don´t like that much. I have tried the 17-y.o. once but was a little bit disappointed. Any other vintages that are as overwhelming as the 10-y.o.?

Bowmore: I have everything from the normals range (Legends, 12-21-y.o., Darkest, Surf) and Dusk. Tried Dawn once but was disappointed. Are Claret, Surf and the old ones worth getting?

Macallen: I really like Sherry-Whiskys. I prefer the 12-y.o. over the 18-y.o. Anything that can be compared to Macallen? Oh, I have Glendronach 15-y.o.

Glenmorangie: I like the Madeira Wood and the Port finish a lot, but I am not a big fan of the normal Glenmorangie. Should I go for Sherry Wood and Fino Wood?