Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Light but, DE-licious!

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Light but, DE-licious!

Postby SixCats! » Thu May 13, 2010 12:27 am

Hi all,

SixCats! (newbie) here. I am very new to Whisky & Whiskey tasting.
I'm a recent fan of Irish Whiskies (Redbreast, Powers, Bushmills, etc.) as well as Scotch (my first bottle now nearly 3/4's gone)
"The Famous Grouse Gold Reserve". Anyway, my first taste of
"The Famous Grouse GR" several weeks ago was...a bit off putting!
I thought to myself, "God, did I make a mistake or what ?" However, it should be noted that I have not had ANY hard liquor in years, and my negative reaction was in part due to this fact. Upon the second or third night of tasting, I began to rather enjoy "The FG GR". However, tonight, I am here to talk about a Horse of a different color.
While visiting a State of NH Liquor store, I couldn't pass up buying a bottle of TAMDHU 10 (Speyside) for the outrageous price of $22.00
(heck, I'm a bargain kind of guy). Well tonight I just popped the Cork on the Tamdhu 10 and poured myself a shots worth. I let the beautiful color liquor sit for about ten minutes before tasting. OK, I realize I am a "newbie" here and I don't have the experience to wax eloquent about Whisky/Whiskey but, this much I can tell you, TAMDHU 10
(although on the light side) is one DE-licious tasting dram!
The flavor is so darn good (and the cost soooo inexpensive) I think Tamdhu 10 could become the Scotch to drink when I'm not drinking Scotch. Now I understand why Whiskyfun rated this lovely dram 90 points! I think I'll buy myself another bottle for twenty two dollars.

Regards,
SixCats! aka Tom
SixCats!

Re: Light but, DE-licious!

Postby lockejn » Thu May 13, 2010 12:32 am