Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

new bottle of lagavulin

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

new bottle of lagavulin

Postby justin » Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:42 pm

after reading so many good things about this whisky, i decided to buy a bottle today. i'm still somewhat new to the single malt game and this will be my first "peaty" excursion. i enjoy the macallan and blavenie doublewood and am very curious what i will think about this latest purchase. (i've also read on here about its supposed decline, but i've never had it before, so i'm not concerned with that.)

i think i'm going to break it open tonite. i'll let ya know what i think.

justin
Last edited by justin on Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
justin

Postby justin » Tue Aug 03, 2004 2:12 am

well. . .. not sure what to say. i didn't know what to expect. i knew it would be different, but wasn't sure how different.

it was different all right. i've never tasted anything like it. as of now, i'll go ahead and say i'd rather have something else, but i'm going to keep going back to it and see if it grows on me.

am i crazy?
justin

Postby Admiral » Tue Aug 03, 2004 4:11 am

Justin,

Lagavulin was actually the first single malt I ever tasted, and it's still one of my absolute favourites.

Yes, it is smoky and peaty, but it offers a richness, spiciness and sweetness that is definitely unique and very different to the other Islay peat monsters.

I have no doubt that with a bit of time and attention, you will come to enjoy your bottle!

Cheers,
Admiral
Admiral
Triple Gold Member

Postby Matt2 » Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:44 am

Keep at it Justin, is this the first smokey/peaty one you have tried. The more you go back to it the more it will develop, you will start to get used to the flavours and enjoy it more.

If not send it to me and I will finish it for you :lol:
Matt2