Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Can any one recommend an good beginner scotch?

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Can any one recommend an good beginner scotch?

Postby corzatrr » Sun Oct 24, 2004 9:27 pm

Friends and I are starting to meet monthly to taste scotch. I'm fairly new to this and I'm looking for good introductory scotches. Ive tried Glenlevit 12 year and found that fairly easy. I deffinately don't want scotches with heavy peat, smoke to them. Can anyone make some recommendations. I live in Canada so I don't know how accessible some varieties are.
corzatrr

Postby BruceCrichton » Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:50 pm

Try something medium-weighted like the Speysiders Balvenie 10 or 12 and Cragganmore 12. These are particularly moreish whiskies with a fairly sweet taste, almost liqueurish in the case of Balvenie 10.

Try Highland Park 12 as well because if you don't like this then you don't like whisky.
BruceCrichton
Double Gold Member

Postby SasquatchMan » Sun Oct 24, 2004 11:06 pm

I'm not a big fan of sending a newbie to Balvenie - it is actually a very strong whisky, and most neophyte scotch drinkers find it very harsh. Balvenie's Doublewood is a much easier product to digest, but for the cost, a guy can do a lot better in terms of sampling. Agree that a medium spey is the best intro. Cragganmore is very smooth, but quite expensive in Canada. For cheap around here, try Aberlour 10 or Tamdhu. At around $35 a bottle (depending where you live) these are very friendly introductory single malts.

Don't feel that you need to break the bank to get decent scotch. The McClelland's series will offer you pretty good value as well, being top quality product that isn't quite as long aged as some. Very drinkable stuff IMHO.

Johnny Walker Black is a nice blend. Gordon Highlanders is also drinkable, a little more woody then most of the cheaper blends.