Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Which one should I pick?

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Which one should I pick?

Postby nir63rin » Fri Dec 28, 2012 12:02 pm

I'm new in this whisky world, so I would appreciate your help in my decision:

Which of these three whiskys do you think is better?

• Jack Daniel's
  • Johnnie Walker White Label
  • Johnnie Walker Blue Label

I would especially appreciate your opinion about the first one, Jack Daniel's. Is it good?
nir63rin

Re: Which one should I pick?

Postby The Third Dram » Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:43 pm

Welcome to the forums! :thumbsup:

Trying to compare Jack Daniel's and any Johnnie Walker blended Scotch is like comparing apples and oranges - two entirely different beasts. Also, I've never heard of Johnnie Walker White Label. Perhaps you're referring to the new 18-year old Platinum Label? If so, I haven't had the opportunity to try that one as yet.

In the Jack Daniel's stable, I'd describe some of the offerings as follows:

The regular Old No.7 - fairly unchallenging and a tad rough around the edges. Better as a mixer than as a sipper.
Gentleman Jack - Much, much smoother, and one you can actually sip and enjoy. Overall, however, not an exceptional pour by any stretch of the imagination.
1954 Gold Medal - A lot more character, with the spices bouncing around the palate. Clean distillate with no off notes.
Single Barrel - The combination of higher alcohol and greater maturity brings added textural richness and length of flavour. More expensive, to be sure. But if you're set on a JD, this is the one I'd recommend.