Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Hi all, I got a couple of questions

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Hi all, I got a couple of questions

Postby whiskynewbie » Sun Mar 30, 2003 9:14 am

Hi all, I am a newbie to the world of whisky !!! I got a couple of questions, hope someone here can answer.

I wonder what the proof on a whisky mean ??

The second is this, I know that whisky is made of barley, water, yeast only and nothing else, but the whisky tasting descriptions always include words like, honey, fruity,etc.
I wonder where those tastes come from ?

Thank you all !!!
whiskynewbie

Postby hpulley » Mon Mar 31, 2003 3:33 am

Proof is simply another way of saying how much alcohol a liquor contains by volume. Divide by two to get the percentage (e.g. 86 proof is 43%). There are historical contexts for proof which I'm not sufficiently well versed to pass on (could be nothing but myth).

Flavours other than barley and yeast mostly come from elements which are extracted by [edit: from, not by] the wood, or which combine with elements from the wood and the original barley and yeast. The inside of the barrels are often charred which creates all sorts of active compounds. Most of the fruity tastes are esters. Not sure about honey (never tasted honey in a whisky personally but I might call that something else, perhaps just sweet). Many sweet tastes are associated in particular with 'sherry' and 'port' oaks, as opposed to 'bourbon' oak. These flavours and scents are kind of like the artificial flavours and scents purposely created in a lab that have nothing to do with the original, but in this case they are serendipitous and indigenous to the way whisky is made and aged.

Not the best answer I'm sure but no one else has responded yet so I hope it helps.

Harry

[This message has been edited by hpulley (edited 31 March 2003).]
hpulley