Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

best inexpensive blends

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

best inexpensive blends

Postby Chris » Wed Jan 29, 2003 9:05 pm

Hi everyone. I'm looking for some experienced insights into the less expensive blends. I am relatively new in the Scotch domain and don't have the cash flow for the expensive malts-although I've tried quite a few. I like the blends with an Islay slant to them. I really enjoy Johnnie Walker Red and to a lesser extent The Famous Grouse.
What are the experts thoughts? Is one of these better than the other? Am I missing some other good ones?
Chris

Postby Admiral » Thu Jan 30, 2003 3:32 am

I don't know if it's available or sold under the same name in other countries, but here in Australia, a very popular and inexpensive blend is "White Heather".

It usually has a price tag slightly higher than, say, Johnny Walker Red, and I find it a very smooth and mellow blend. Some might suggest that it doesn't have many obvious, standout characteristics, (e.g. smoke, peat, etc) but then isn't that what blends are for?
Admiral
Triple Gold Member

Postby Ize » Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:19 pm

Gordon Graham's Black Bottle 10yo.

Kippis,
Ize

P.S. I won't start commenting on Red Label or Famous Grouse ... are they mentioned as a flamebait? Image
Ize
Silver Member

Postby Chris » Thu Jan 30, 2003 5:50 pm

White Heather is not available in Canada. Flamebait? Not sure what you mean. I've heard of Black Bottle and it sounds like one I would definately enjoy, but unfortunatly it is also not available in Cda. I find that the JW Red has a nice peat/smoke flavor that is lacking in most blends. The Grouse is a little smoother, but is a bit sweet and lacks the punch of the Red. Any thoughts?
Chris

Postby Gate » Thu Jan 30, 2003 6:23 pm