Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

4 Islays together

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

4 Islays together

Postby Nock » Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:08 am

Well, I am anxiously awaiting Lawrence doing that Ardbeg HTH. With that in mind I decided to have a fun of my own and have the 4 Islays I have on hand go at it. Just so you know this is my first time to try and communicate my tasting in print on this forum so please be gentle :oops: (but also feel free to correct me if I say something wrong) :)

The four are Ardbeg 10yo, Lagavulin 16yo, Laphroaig 10yo, and Finlaggan Old Reserve. I decided that while I was at it I would see if I could pick up on any similarities between the Finlaggan and any of the other three. Just a little “guess which one it could be from.”

First the color:
In my opinion the Finlaggan Old Reserve very closely resembled the color of the Lagavulin. The Laphroaig was much lighter then either and Ardbeg was lighter then that. But, then again it could all be dyes.

The nose:
Now here was the most telling factor for me. I described the Lagavulin as “a full rounded attack of smoke and peat.” (do you ever feel silly after you write this stuff down, and then have someone else read it? :oops: ) The Ardbeg in comparison while having plenty of peat smoke was also very oily and sweet. The Laphroaig as you all know is powerful peat. However, when compared to these other malts there is also something sweet that I found a bit off. Maybe this is what “medicinal” is referring to? Or maybe it was nutty? :? Mr. Jackson says “gooseberry sweetness”??) The Finlaggan I described as “heavy smoke and sweet seaweed.”

The body: