Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Bruichladdich 20 year 3rd edition

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Bruichladdich 20 year 3rd edition

Postby petecaps » Fri Jun 29, 2007 1:21 pm

I found this whisky amazing. A fantastic nose. A quick peaty aromoa that did not burn the nose whatsoever. The tase was also a nice peaty mud that was just pure joy. And the finish just laid there on the palate to remind you to try another sip in a few minutes.

Had the 1st edidtion last week and it did not seem like an Islay at all to me. Much more like a straight forward Highland whisky. My buddy and I put it sstraight to the back of the shelf, probably to be lost til we are bored and already drunk to try again.

Anyway, I am a novice (started drinking the dram about a year ago), so I would appredciate some reviews and opinions on these two whiskys.

Please try to avoid reviews on other "Laddies" as they seem to have a thousand different bottleing out there. TIA
petecaps

Postby Ganga » Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm

Most of the Bruichladdich's I've had did not have a very high peating level at all, including the first and second editions of the Twenty. Both versions of the Twenty take me to a happy place and were quite sublime.

Based on your comments it sounds like you are very much a peat-head. I would suggest that you set the Twenty first edition aside for now. As a suggestion, try it on an evening when you are having a malt that is not heavily peated and not heavily sherried.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby petecaps » Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:12 am

I just like peat when I am going to drink al Islay. To be honest, I get peated out quite quickly. It is just the 1st edition has no Islay qualities. I agree it is a nice little dram, just tastes like a Speyside dram.