Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

The smell of Peat

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

The smell of Peat

Postby Status Guo » Thu May 08, 2008 3:18 am

My first post and I'm completely new to the world of whisk(e)y tasting - I'm an expert at getting hammered though.

What exactly does Peat smell like? Please don't say it smells like Peat. I bought a bottle of Connemara and I liked it, but I've been told by "guests" of my abode that they don't like peated whisky. I smelled and tasted it again. I didn't smell or taste anything that stood out from my other whiskeys.
Status Guo

Re: The smell of Peat

Postby oldrip57 » Thu May 08, 2008 5:17 am

Smoked dirt?
oldrip57
Bronze Member

Postby Peatlover » Thu May 08, 2008 5:46 am

Smoked dirt is a great description.

Having grown up in the Shetlands where peat fires are the norm, describing the smell is actually really difficult. It just smells like.... peat...!!

It is too bad Blackwoods attempts at distilling whisky in Shetland have never really taken off......
Peatlover

Postby Deactivated Member » Thu May 08, 2008 6:25 am

Smoked dirt or scorched, smoked earth would be a good description.

Some time ago I started this discussion about the difference between "smokey" and "peaty". Maybe it will help a little.

http://www.whiskymag.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6954
Deactivated Member

Postby Status Guo » Thu May 08, 2008 6:46 am

Thanks!

I just splurged on a Lagavulin 16. Supposedly this is the stuff that's strong of Peat. I'll try it out later this week.
Status Guo

Postby peat-chaser » Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am

Hi Status Guo,