Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Glenmorangie Bitter?

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Glenmorangie Bitter?

Postby Tightwad » Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:40 pm

I just tried Glenmorangie 10yo 43% and found it to have a very bitter taste and finish. It tasted like I dumped Aspirin Powders in it. Is this indicative of Glenmorangie 10yo or did I get a bad bottle?

PS Im a newbie and this is only my fifth SMSW.
Tightwad

Re: Glenmorangie Bitter?

Postby lockejn » Sun Aug 23, 2009 3:11 am

I also found the Glenmorangie 10 to have a bitter finish. One of my least favorite malts.
lockejn
Triple Gold Member

Postby blacksabb » Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:36 am

lockejn wrote:I also found the Glenmorangie 10 to have a bitter finish. One of my least favorite malts.

Is that really true? Bummer! Because I changed my mind regarding Father's Day. I'm now buying myself the JW Green and I was going to get my dad a couple of other things. One of those funnily enough Glenmorangie 10yrs.
blacksabb
Silver Member

Postby borgom » Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:00 pm

Hmmm, never found it to be bitter myself - more sweet but dry - some elements that remind me of a young white wine.
It can have a little bitternes on the finish but not very much. I'd suggest you put the bottle away and try it again from time to time.
It may just be something's effected your taste buds at the moment.
borgom
Gold Member

Postby Tightwad » Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:15 pm

CORRECTION: I would edit the original question if I could.

I dont know what happened but yesterday the Glenmorangie 10 was very bitter. After 24 hours open the bitterness is simply gone.