Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Bruichladdich Infinity

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Bruichladdich Infinity

Postby prholland » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:16 am

Hi, I am a relative novice at this whisky game, and a few years ago tasted the Bruichladdich Infinity first edition. There has been plenty of good stuff been quaffed since then, but I have not been able to find anything with the same qualities as the Infinity. The second edition didn't have quite the intensity, and the third has been reviewed as almost over-peaty. Given the first edition is now getting rare, and expensive, can anyone offer any advice on alternatives with similar qualities. Many thanks. PR.
prholland

Re: Bruichladdich Infinity

Postby Ganga » Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:04 pm

The problem is that you are looking at Bruichladdich. The powers that be at the distillery believe that everything needs to be finihsed in some kind of wine cask and that each new batch of XXX must be finished in a different type of wine cask. If you have the specs on the Infinity, look for another Bruichladdich finished in the same kinds of wine casks.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby Douglas » Sun Dec 05, 2010 3:12 pm

The first Infinity was 100% Refill Sherry casks and was widely reported to include some young Port Charlotte. Like you I enjoyed it a lot and I haven't had anything quite like it since. It had power without being a full blown sherry or peat monster.

I suspect it would be difficult to recreate now based on their stocks.

As I said, I can't recommend anything identical but you might want to try a dram of Talisker Distillers Edition, or if you're open to an experiment, try a dram of Aberlour a'bunadh with a few drops of an Islay peaty. Going the other way towards peat, you could try the Ardbeg Uigeadail which has sherry but a lot more peat!