Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Need help deciding whisky

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Need help deciding whisky

Postby txtran » Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:35 pm

Okay so first off, i am very new to the whisky world. The only whiskey I have ever tried would be Crown Royal and Southern Comfort. Now I want to try Single Malts. My first option is Laphroaig Quarter Cask. I am a experienced drinker so I think I can handle this. My second option would be Highland park 12. My third option is Talisker 12.

Does this sound like a good plan?

I have no clue how much each bottle is but I want to spend maybe $30-$60 each. I'm on the southeast side of the US.

Oh and if you don't mind answering how is it do you drink whiskey? You dont drink it like a vodka,tequila,or a cognac.
txtran

Re: Need help deciding whisky

Postby lockejn » Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:21 pm

I would shuffle your order a bit. Maybe HP 12, Talisker 10, then Laphroaig (10 or QC). Then you have a sort of escalation in peat. I've seen Laphroaig turn off a lot of folks who were unprepared for the smack down.
lockejn
Triple Gold Member

Postby Ganga » Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:16 pm

If you can get yourself a glencairn glass or use a brandy glass if you have one or this is easier to get. Also, have something that you can add controlled amounts of water to your whisky.

Some people prefer their whiskies need and others are quite generous with the water. Typically I like mine neat or maybe just a few drops of water. But it is up to you how much water you think you need. I don't like to add ice because the amount of water in the whisky is constantly changing and (at least for me) the whisky seems to close down when the temperature is lowered to that of the ice.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby txtran » Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:08 pm