Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Plans for Scotch, Edinburgh and Scotland

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Plans for Scotch, Edinburgh and Scotland

Postby well-sherried » Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:46 pm

Hi all,

Finally getting around to my 1st post. Thanks in advance for taking the time to read what's turned out to be a fairly long post and for your answers.

I'm fairly new to whisky and the single malts. Used to drink whiskey many years back and after a bad experience went on hiatus for 30 years. Long story short, tried a Balvanie DW about a year ago and loved it. Tasted nothing like the whiskey of my youth, but had the same desired affect! Anyway, I've tried several, mostly Speysides and like them all. Probably in the following order.... Balvanie DW, Glenlivet 12, Tomatin 12, Glenfiddich 12 (there's something in it that I don't like - peaty or malty?), Speyburn 10 - like it, but clearly could have used more aging, also tried the Lismore.

I also tried the HP12 and the 18. Liked the 18, mixed on the 12. I actually liked it the 1st couple times, disliked it the next couple and sort of liked it for the rest of the bottle, but accepted the smokiness. Clearly a complex whisky, but I'm thinking I may not be a fan of the peaty/smokywhiskies, tiime will tell.

OK, why the background? My wife and I are vacationing in Scotland in June. 3 days in Edinburgh and 8 days out and about w/a car rental.

I'm hoping to get some learned feedback on a couple questions.

1st, I'm going to get a 750ml bottle for the trip. But what? I'm thinking 3 things.
a) something along the lines of the Speysides above
b) something I haven't tried and better yet, something I won't find in the US. Something with a Scotland only distribution.
c) a cheaper price point. My palette is not so well advanced that $for$ I will appreciate a 21, 25, or older whisky.