Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Whisky investment

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Whisky investment

Postby rushtonma » Sat May 21, 2011 4:14 am

Hey there, I'm new to scotch whisky, but am very interested in both the drinking and collecting of it. I am currently working on two collections; one for drinking, and one for showing off in a glass case. I'm looking for a currently available scotch whisky that is predicted to be valued/desired by collectors in the future. Thanks.
rushtonma

Re: Whisky investment

Postby Shargard » Sat May 21, 2011 10:09 am

Hi,
If you are new to the whisky i would recommend you following. Read some books - find out some informations about regions, distilleries, whisky itself. Taste from each region a decide what is the best for you. I am collecting bottles. Have some rare bottles but they are close to my heart as well. Do you know what i mean? I am not focusing if the bottle will have value in future for other people. You will always find someone who likes same style as you unless you want make a lot of money. Have fun with discovering whisky world
Shargard

Postby The Third Dram » Sat May 21, 2011 5:00 pm

Welcome to the forums. :thumbsup:

Before going any further, it's critical to pinpoint exactly what you mean by 'investment'.

Generally speaking, if you are looking to purchase whiskies that will eventually escalate in value and/or become very difficult to procure in the future solely with an eye to being able to open and enjoy them down the road, then your range of choices is quite broad.

However, if you are planning to purchase such whiskies only in an attempt to realize a considerable appreciation in value in terms of selling them in the future, your plan represents a far greater, and far more risky, challenge. I would caution you against taking this route, as your hard earned cash would probably be better invested in other ways.