Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Laphroaig Quarter Cask

All your whisky related questions answered here.
Related whiskies : Laphroaig Quarter Cask

Laphroaig Quarter Cask

Postby jimlink » Fri Oct 14, 2011 10:23 am

Hi all,

I'm new to Scotch, but not whiskey in general. I just bought a bottle of QC as maybe my 10th bottle of Scotch and first bottle of cask strength anything.

I am finding it undrinkable and want to know if it's a function of my palate, or if maybe I got a bad bottle of the stuff. Is it even possible for a bottle to be off when you buy it? (like wine is sometimes)

When I first opened it, the cork was crumbling, but held together after dropping quite a bit into the bottle. There is no fungus on the cork.

It does not smell anything like any whisky I've tried before. It smells like iodine. I do not mean strong hints of iodine over the recognizable whisky smell, I mean it literally smells like a bottle of iodine, with not even a hint of peat, smoke or whisky.

It also tastes very different to any other whisky I've tried before. It's incredibly harsh, very peppery, but otherwise quite light; not like other islay's at all.

So, is this normal for QC, or should I try and get a refund?
jimlink

Re: Laphroaig Quarter Cask

Postby corbuso » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:07 pm

Iodine is something that you would expect from a Laphroaig and peppery are not unexpected from a quarter cask.
If you have not tried a peaty whisky from Islay before, then this might a surprise from you. Try to give to someone else to taste for a check, if you can.
Some people do not like peaty whiskies and you might be one of them. If so, taste it again in some months.
Whisky is a matter of taste and as you will discover, there is a wide flavour diversity between the whiskies
www.whisky-news.com
corbuso
Gold Member

Postby The Third Dram » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:45 pm