Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

The Boss and Justerini & Brooks

All your whisky related questions answered here.

The Boss and Justerini & Brooks

Postby smgrey24 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:50 pm

I am new to Scotch and am looking to expand my tasting experiences. My boss is a huge fan of J&B (Justerini & Brooks) Blended Scotch Whisky and recommended that I give it a try. Was wondering what the experts out there thought of J&B? Is it as good as the boss claims?
smgrey24

Re: The Boss and Justerini & Brooks

Postby Ganga » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:18 pm

I've had quite a few blends that were far worse than J&B. Then again, I've had a lot better blends too. J&B is on the inexpensive side so you can always give it a try.

If you are looking to expand your whisky horizons, I suggest miniatures, 200 mls or half bottles. Should be plenty of blends and a few single malts to get you started.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby whiskgeek » Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:22 am

What do you plan on doing with it? J&B is fine for mixers. But in my opinion, there's not much Scotch that's worse. It's right down there with Cutty Sark, and Glenfiddich 12. Johnnie Walker Red, Famous Grouse, Dewar's White Label and Glenlivet 12 are a small step up. But again, best for mixers. Maybe rocks.

Any of those are affordable, and will give you an idea of what Scotch tastes like. If you think you might be interested, take the next step and find some single malt. Find a good bar that has several bottles of the good stuff, and ask for a glass, neat. Tell them you want to try something smooth.

Or just try the single malt first. :)
whiskgeek
Bronze Member

Postby AdamMY » Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:12 am