Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Highland Park 18 Alternative

All your whisky related questions answered here.
Related whiskies : Highland Park 18 Years Old

Highland Park 18 Alternative

Postby ykv » Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:24 am

I'm brand new to the whiskey world. Well, sort of. I've been drinking lots of whiskeys for several years - the Red and Black Johnny Walkers, J&B, Dewar's, and so on - but I've always mixed them with Coke. I could never stand to drink it straight, until about a week ago, when everything changed.

A friend of mine let me try a few pulls from his glass of his Glenlivet 12, and to my surprise, I could actually taste flavors other than "burning," and I really liked it. So here I find myself, suddenly exposed to a wide open world of wonderful whiskeys, and I'm having a ball exploring these new territories (new to me, anyway).

To the point: I recently went to a whiskey bar and tried a sampler flight, one of which was the Highland Park 18. I suppose I'm now ruined for life, because this amazingly complex and flavorful whiskey is far-and-away better than anything else I've tried (the other features on the flight were the Glenlivet 18 and the Glenfiddich 18), and it retails for around $100 USD.

My question is this: is there anything else on the market that even comes close, but at about 1/3 the price? I've seen that there is a Highland Park 12 that retails for closer to $40 USD, but are the flavors comparable? I think what I liked most about the HP-18 was the smokey, almost leathery taste - salty, even. What other whiskeys are in this same flavor category, if any?

I did enjoy the Glenlivet 18 and the Glenfiddich 18, but I also thought they were a lot more on the sweeter side than the HP-18 (the Glenlivet much more so than the Glenfiddich).