Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Newbie here, looking for recommendations

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Newbie here, looking for recommendations

Postby bscepter » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:09 am

hello all -

i'm a longtime whisky dilettante - but i've recently been getting into it for real.

so far, my favorite - by a long way - is lagavulin 16 yo, with the 10 yo laphroaig coming in a close second.

though very different, i quite like the dalwhinnie 15 yo as well.

i have a bottle of ardbeg uigeadail as well, but i find it quite... harsh. i realize it's cask strength. perhaps i need to add water to dilute it. (i prefer my whisky neat).

i also have a bottle of balvenie 12 yo, which is nice, but nothing like the two islay malts i first mentioned.

so, my question is, what others should i try that will give me that lovely oily, slightly sweet smoothness that lagavulin and laphroaig give me? i quite like the peaty smokiness of the two, but i'm willing to branch out beyond islay.

thanks for any advice (and apologies for using any incorrect terms; as i said, i'm new to this)
bscepter

Re: Newbie here, looking for recommendations

Postby bscepter » Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:55 am

btw, i'm sure my "likes" are all obvious and facile and probably mark me as a total n00b, so be kind...
bscepter

Postby The Third Dram » Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:15 am

bscepter wrote:...what others should i try that will give me that lovely oily, slightly sweet smoothness that lagavulin and laphroaig give me? i quite like the peaty smokiness of the two, but i'm willing to branch out beyond islay.

Caol Ila would seem to be the obvious pick as your next choice... Definitely has that oily textural quality (not to mention flavour overtones of olive oil in many of its expressions). The 12-year old is widely available and slips down a treat, while the cask strength version is an absolute gem!