Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Newbie Looking for Smoke

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Newbie Looking for Smoke

Postby Palamedes » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:54 pm

Hello to all,

As the title suggests, I am rather new to whisky... However the other day, I came into possession of a bottle of Laphroaig QC.

Now I have had my fair share of cheap whisky, but nothing in comparison to Laphroaig. My problem is, the raw alcohol in the QC, to me, overpowers and takes away from all the other flavors. More specifically, the smoke. From other posts, I am guessing that this sensation would be refereed to as the "iodine" or "medicine" like taste, but I cannot be too sure.

I love all things smokey, but realizing that my palette may not be developed enough to fully enjoy Laphroaig, my question is: Are there any whiskys that one can recommend that are smokey, yet not overpowering with the raw alcohol kick that Laphroaig gives? Ideally, I would like to work my way up to the Laphroaig, Ardbeg etc, but don't really know where to start.

Upon looking through the forum, I see that Talisker 10y or the Highland Park 12y are quite popular among the beginners of the bunch, but would they be something that I am looking for (again, smoke smoke smoke)>?

Thanks all and happy drinking..

Pal
Palamedes

Re: Newbie Looking for Smoke

Postby Ganga » Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:40 pm

Highland Park 12 varies a little bit in the amount of smoke. Somewhere, you can find tasting notes on this whisky. Off the top of my head, honey heather with a whisky smoke comes to mind as the basic profile.

Talisker 10 is more spicey and waxy with light smoke.

Youngish Bowmore reminds me more of a wood smoke than a peat smoke. In addition, there are floral notes.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby bredman » Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:28 pm

Palamedes wrote: