Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Hi I'm the new person

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Hi I'm the new person

Postby jezca » Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:53 am

Hi,

I'm new to this site. I'm new to whiskeys too. I am a bar manager and have enough knowledge to talk to people about our (very tiny) range of whiskeys but I want to know more...I have been researching, talking to whiskey lovers and tasting (my favorite part) for the past few months.

So I found this site and figured if I have any questions about whiskeys I could come here and discuss with people who might know a thing or two and gain some more knowledge.

One thing I've been wanting to know, for a while now, is how old is Smokehead!!!??? I've been looking and looking and I can't find a thing about it... I've been to the 'official website' but still nothing...? Is it young? I've read people say it's a 7yo then I've read that it's 5...wouldn't have a clue and bearing in mind, I live in New Zealand so I've only become aware of the stuff in the last few years so if I'm dragging up an old conversation that's already been done to death I'm sorry...if I've asked some dumb questions, again, sorry...like I said NEW :)

Also...can anyone fill me in on 'quarter cask' I just ordered a bottle in. I've read a bit about it, I understand the concept but what do people think of it...??

Thanks for taking the time to read this...
Jez
jezca

Re: Hi I'm the new person

Postby Ganga » Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:25 am

There is no age statement for the Smokehead. Even if you got a rep to tell you an age it may be different in a subsequent batch. I would suggest that the youngest whisky in Smokehead would be between 5 and 8 yo, depending upon the particular batch.