Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

A scotch question or 2...

All your whisky related questions answered here.

A scotch question or 2...

Postby Urban_Monk » Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:35 am

So I'm new to scotch, having always chosen bourbon over it... Due to misconceptions I suppose. A few weeks ago I tried a friends Chivas Regal 18 yr and was quite surprised, as I had never tasted anything like it. I really didn't like it at first, but by the time I got to the end of the glass I was really enjoying it...
It was the smokey taste I was warming up to. As a pipe tobacco collector, this smokiness in the background tasted exactly like a particular type of pipe tobacco called Latakia. Very interesting.
So, I went right out the next day and picked up a bottle of the same CR 18. And I've also picked up a few other scotches as well... Just out of curiosity. The Macallan, Glenmorangie original, Johnny Walker black, Glenfiddich, and Smokey Joe.

Anyway, what I'm after is that same type of experience I get with CR 18 in a single malt. If that's possible... ( Or other blends I suppose ) Smooth and just the right amount of smokiness coming in at the end without being overly smokey. any suggestions ???

Secondly I was wondering, what exactly is causing that smokiness ? Is that just Islay malt for you, or peat... Or what ?

Thanks!
Urban_Monk

Re: A scotch question or 2...

Postby Urban_Monk » Fri May 02, 2014 7:22 am

Well I picked up 3 new scotches today. Ardbeg 10, Bunnahabhain 12 and Highland Park 15.

These are all good, but I think the Highland Park 15 was amazingly good. Just what I was looking for. The smokiness stays fairly hidden until the end of the finish, at which time it comes on perfectly.
Urban_Monk

Postby Malteriet » Sat May 03, 2014 7:33 pm