Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Scotch Newbie

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Scotch Newbie

Postby scotchirish » Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:19 am

I'm new to Scotch. My Scotch-Irish heritage requires that I drink it.
I need some guidance (without spending a fortune finding out . .. maybe some samplers).

I sampled the Dewars 12, a Dewars w/honey, and the Johnnie Walker Black. Didn't care for either Dewars but REALLY ENJOYED the Johnnie Walker. Boy was I glad. It was very smooth and tasty, just a pleasure to drink.

Now I am on to other brands. Just bought a Speyside scotch called 'Speyburn 10 Year'. It gets really good reviews from nearly everyone, especially for the price. I liked it okay but thought it a little sweet.

Knowing that I liked the Johnnie Walker, what would anyone recommend if I wanted a little heavier (peaty?), maybe smoky flavor, without the medicinal taste? I drink espresso coffee, dark beer (porter, stout). What's the scotch equivalent . . . with good taste that is?

I'm open to suggestions.

From a wannabe scotch lover.
scotchirish

Re: Scotch Newbie

Postby Ganga » Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:07 pm

As I recall the base malt whisky for JW Black is Caol Ila. Their 12 yo might be a good starting point. JW Red has a base malt whisky of Talisker. Talisker 10 yo would be a good starting point.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby scotchirish » Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:34 am

Thanks Ganga,

I think I recall someone recommending Talisker to me before.
Can you describe the taste to me?
scotchirish

Postby peergynt323 » Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:57 pm

Before getting to your last post, I was thinking of recommending Talisker 10yo (Caol Ila 12yo is also a great intro bottle).

Talisker is a unique animal: citrus, minerals, smoke and pepper. It has remained remarkably consistent throughout the years with its tear-inducing long peppery finish, which should give you a nice endorphin rush for the price.