Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

New to whisky

All your whisky related questions answered here.

New to whisky

Postby ilsoo » Wed Sep 04, 2002 6:51 pm

Hi,

I'm fairly new to whisky, mostly due to my age, and was wondering if anyone can help a whisky rookie out.

1. I understand that whisky stops maturing once leaving the cask, but is it possible for spirits to lose flavor or to go 'bad' leaving them sealed for a long duration, for example, a few years or decades? Also, after breaking the seal on a whisky, how long before the flavor alters or goes bad, if at all?

2. Are various types of glasses universal for all types of whiskies or are specific glasses preferred for specific types of whiskies?

3. I understand the terms 'neat' and 'rock' but I'm also having trouble deciphering between tumblers, neat, and rock glasses. They all seem identical to me. What are the differences? And what is the ideal size for tumblers, neat & rock glasses?

I apologize if I'm coming off half-witted. I'm pretty lost in the world of whisky! Thanks to anyone who can help me out! Also, just out of curiosity when did most of you folks start to take an interest in whisky? I'm only 21 and among all my friends, who love to drink, I seem to be the only one interested in the production process, history, lore, and taste of various spirits whereas all the seem to enjoy is the "getting drunk" part(which I enjoy too Image)

Thanks to anyone who can help a whisky novice out!
ilsoo

Postby lexkraai » Thu Sep 05, 2002 7:03 am

Hi ilsoo