Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Whats your next purchase going to be???

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Whats your next purchase going to be???

Postby Ian_Hamilton » Wed Sep 04, 2002 9:31 pm

Hi
I thought I would start an interesting new topic. I am fairly new to tasting whiskies, I have probably tasted only around 35-40 different ones.
So I am interested in whats rated and whats good at the moment?
So what I want to know is whats the next bottle you plan to buy???

I am thinking of Bruichladdich 20 yr old!
Ian_Hamilton
Bronze Member

Postby Nodin » Thu Sep 05, 2002 12:07 am

I've heard rumors of a 12yo Cask Strenth Lagavulin...if these prove true i will seek that out. Also may pick up the Glenfiddich Havana reserve (anyone had this? how is it?) though that would just be for the novelty of it as it's not available here in the US...
Taa,
Nodin
Nodin

Postby r0b » Thu Sep 05, 2002 3:48 am

I've ordered three The Balvenie. 17, 21 and 25 Yrs old. I'll get them on Monday (Sept 9). I'll be eating air for the next month because they don't come cheap.

But who the hell needs food when you get three malts as good as these, eh? Image

(Next one after that is Ardbeg 17. I was going to get the 1978 but it's sold out.)
r0b
Bronze Member

Postby Ize » Thu Sep 05, 2002 5:03 am

Lagavulin was my first love, but I'm not sure what has happened at the distillery it has become milder in peat and smoke. Johannes Van Den Heuvel at www.maltmadness.com has noticed this thing which I'm worried about.

Aberlour a'bunadh that should be worth of the experience. If I have understood correctly there isn't much of differences between the batches. This might be my next buy.
Ize
Silver Member

Postby Gate » Thu Sep 05, 2002 1:41 pm

I am finally going to go for the cask strength Nikka Yoichi 10-year-old single cask. If it's even half as good as Jim Murray says, I shall be a happy man.
Gate
Silver Member