Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Support group for people who don't like Laphroaig QC

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Support group for people who don't like Laphroaig QC

Postby mxyzptlk » Wed Apr 04, 2007 2:52 pm

I see much praise for Laphroaig Quarter Cask around the web, this forum included. I'm a huge fan of the regular 10yo, and thought the QC would be something for me. I couldn't have been more wrong. While I am a rookie of sorts in the world of whisky, I have tasted around 35-40 different single malts during the last 18 months, and while Laphroaig 10yo is still one of my absolute favorites, the QC has got to be the least pleasing of all the whiskies I've tasted (not counting blends, Chivas 12 is perhaps the worst whisky I've tasted period).

There's a bitterness in the QC also found in the 10yo, but not supplemented by the sweetness that balances the 10yo so beautifully, making the whole experience.. yes, a tad bitter for my taste. It just seems unfinished, so to speak. It's not that it tastes bad, it's just not very good either.

I guess it's all a matter of taste and personal preference, but one thing I find interesting is that I've yet to read a negative review of the QC online, while of the three whisky loving friends I have who all love the 10yo, all of them agree with me wholeheartedly regarding the QC. And just for the record, I've had the QC from three different bottles, so I think I can rule out a "dud" also.

Am I alone here in this respect, or are there others like me out there?
mxyzptlk

Postby hpulley » Wed Apr 04, 2007 3:05 pm

You are not alone. I also prefer the 10yo. Initially I really liked the QC but after a week I didn't really like it and it took me over a year to finish it.

Harry
hpulley
Triple Gold Member

Postby irishwhiskeychaser » Wed Apr 04, 2007 3:16 pm