Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Seasonal influences on whisky destilling?

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Seasonal influences on whisky destilling?

Postby Rudy » Sun Apr 13, 2003 3:14 pm

Hello everybody,

as an advanced novice I quite enjoy the postings in this BB and would like to contribute by following up on Eriks advice to Iain on the vintage subject.
I guess this is about vintage taken a level further.

To answer your question about temperature and weather, Iain, I tried to find an answer in some books and found the following:

Charles MacLean mentions in 'Malt Whisky' that water temperature is crucial (for the cooling of the production process) but adds in the same sentance that most destillers cool the water anyway. He mentions further that destillers are able to determine whether a whisky was destilled in spring or autumn. Winter destilled whisky appears to be the best. He suspects the temperatue difference between the environment and the still: the higher the environment temperature, the higher the chance that unwanted elements pass through the still.

Graham Moore in 'Malt Whisky' mentions the change in water quality: the chemical make-up of water changes with the ambient temperature, with the quality falling as temperature rises. According to GM this is the reason why some destilleries close in summer.

Walter Schobert (Das Whisky Lexikon) and Thierry Bénitah (Whisky) only mention that there should be a lot of water available (that's why some destilleries close in summer) and that it should be cold, but they both don't reveal the reason.