Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Independant Bottlings...

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Independant Bottlings...

Postby SteveZZZ » Sat Oct 25, 2003 5:27 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm still fairly new to the single malt scene, but thanks to the help I've gotten online, I know a whole lot more than I did a few months ago. Something that seems fairly uniquie to scotch is the idea of independant bottlings, and I'm not sure what to think of them. Are there certain brands that are significantly better? I've read a lot of good things about Signatory, and was lucky enough to pick up their 27yo Macallan bottling yesterday. What about others? My local shop has a few other interesting bottlings, one being a ~25 year old Highland Park (don't remember the exact details) that's been tempting me the last few visits. So when it comes to the independant bottlings, are there certain brands I should seek out or avoid, or is it pretty safe to try anything that sounds good? My malt collection is still rather small, so I'd rather not risk wasting money to try something when I could buy 2 or more bottles that would really help fill in my collection.

Steve
SteveZZZ

Postby BruceCrichton » Sun Oct 26, 2003 9:36 am

Signatory are especially good.

Their range and prices are excellent. I've seen a 1978 Dallas Dhu (24 yr) for £40.

My friend has the palest whisky I've ever seen (1991 Rosebank 12 yr old) which cost him £22 - £8 cheaper than the standard bottling.
BruceCrichton
Double Gold Member

Postby Jeroen Kloppenburg » Sun Oct 26, 2003 2:41 pm

Next is my personal feelings on independents.

For me, the world of Malt is all about discovery and trying out new malts. There are only a few bottles I would keep buying each time they get emptied here.