Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Laphroaig 10 Yr. Cask Strength

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Laphroaig 10 Yr. Cask Strength

Postby ConspiracyTheory » Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:02 am

I'm quite new to Scotch really and up until now I've only tried Black Label, Cragganmore 12 Yr., and the Yamazaki 12 Yr. (which I know isn't really Scotch) and liked them all quite well. I decided to try an Islay and decided on the 10 Yr. CS. I'm very glad I did. It's a big change from the others I've had, but a change that is very welcome. I'm loving everything about this whisky: the nose, palate, and finish are all equally great. Adding a drop or two of water opens it up just a bit and cuts the burn just enough to really enjoy it. There will definitely be some more bottle of this in my future. :D
ConspiracyTheory

Re: Laphroaig 10 Yr. Cask Strength

Postby pkt77242 » Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:07 am

Welcome to the forums ConspiracyTheory. Glad you enjoyed the Laph 10 CS it is a very good dram.

Sean
pkt77242
Matured cask

Postby talisker10 » Sun Apr 05, 2009 6:06 am

Welcome to a fellow Texan and a fellow admirer of Laphroaig 10 CS! Try the Laphroaig Quarter Cask as well. Watch for the additional tropical fruit notes as compared to the CS!
talisker10
Silver Member

Postby ConspiracyTheory » Sun Apr 05, 2009 6:21 am

Thanks for the welcomes.

talisker10 wrote:Welcome to a fellow Texan and a fellow admirer of Laphroaig 10 CS! Try the Laphroaig Quarter Cask as well. Watch for the additional tropical fruit notes as compared to the CS!

I intend to try this at some point in the future. I actually almost bought it instead of the CS. But, I'm also a fan of rum and there's a few premium rums I'm wanting to try so it might be a while before I get to the Quarter Cask.
ConspiracyTheory

Postby kyorke1 » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:21 am