Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

a wee bit smokier than Highland Park 12?

All your whisky related questions answered here.

a wee bit smokier than Highland Park 12?

Postby NWWhiksyFan » Thu Apr 23, 2009 9:32 pm

Hi!

I'm a single malt novice (drank bourbon for the last decade) and am just discovering my scotch palate. I've gone through bottles of Aberlour 16, Bruichladdich 12, Balvenie Doublewood, and am currently half through a bottle of Highland Park 12. It's definitely my favorite so far. I love how balanced it is.

For my next bottle I'd like to try something with, say, 15% more smoke - but that still has a bit of a sweet, malty / sherry underbelly. Any suggestions?
NWWhiksyFan

Re: a wee bit smokier than Highland Park 12?

Postby Ganga » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:25 am

Well, Talisker is smokey but not as intense on the smoke and/or peat as the Islay whiskies. It would seem that Talisker DE or 18 would fit the bill.

Other choices for the little less smokey would be Ardmore Traditional Cask, some of the peated Benriachs, or peated Bunnahabhain.

Otherwise, you are looking at scarcer bottlings like Port Ellen and Brora. Or moving up something much more smokey than HP - Ardbeg, Laphroaig, Lagavulin, Caol Ila, peated Bruichladdich.
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby The Third Dram » Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:13 am

I'll add Glen Garioch 21 Year Old and (should you wish to try a very good vatted pure malt in lieu of a single) Poit Dhubh 12 Bliadhna Mac Na Braiche Green Label to Ganga's fine list.
The Third Dram
Triple Gold Member

Postby Ganga » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:13 am

Good call on the Glen Garioch!
Ganga
Matured cask

Postby pkt77242 » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:39 am