Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Lagavulin 21. Disappointing?

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.
Related whiskies : Lagavulin 21 Years Old

Lagavulin 21. Disappointing?

Postby Bloody Marvellous » Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:39 pm

I decided to crack my Laga 21 open. Something I'd been wanting to do since I first got the bottle.

But I must say, I'm unimpressed. It's probably because I'm still pretty much a novice when it comes to whisky, and I've been drinking the spicier stuff lately (Laga 16, Laph 15, Ardbeg Uigeadail, Talisker 10 & 18, and HP 12).

The aromas coming from the bottle when first opened were amazing, but soon seemed to dissipate. There's no lingering smell like the Laga 16 has. After sticking my nose back in the glass after a while there's nothing delicate that I can discern (but again I am a novice).

It's smooth (even at cask strength).

You know what, I'm gonna pour a dram of Laga 16 and compare them side by side... I'll be right back.

OK, maybe my memory of how the Laga 16 smelled has deceived me somewhat, or maybe it's the vindaloo curry that I had earlier this evening, but the Laga 16's smell is lighter than what I remembered, and much lighter than that of the sherried 21. The 21 is thicker, more buttery. The peat is quite pronounced in both, but I think moreso in the 16.

I'm having great difficulty finding words to describe the smells I'm getting from both whiskies. Here's to tasting then.

The Laga 16 has been sitting in a near empty bottle for a while. Not sure if most of the 43% alcohol has evaporated, or if I just got used to drinking cask strength whiskies, but there's almost no alcohol burn. There's a long aftertaste on the 16, it sticks to the tongue and roof of my mouth like peanutbutter. It appears sweet, even though I know it shouldn't. I still love this whisky, it's what really got me into single malts.